Thames Ditton Regatta is held under the Rules of British Rowing, and the British Rowing Rules of Racing shall apply.
The regatta conforms to the British Rowing Water Safety Code, now known as ‘Row Safe: A Guide to Good Practice in Rowing’. This can be found in the Almanack and are also available on British Rowing’s web site.
All events apart from J13s and J14s take place in Morning and Afternoon Divisions - competitors (including coxes, boats and blades) may NOT double up within a division.
J13 and J14 events will take place throughout the day. No one competing (in any capacity) in a J13 or J14 event can compete in any other event (this also applies to boats and blades). There will be 'Plate' events for first-round losers in J13 and J14 crew (not 1x) events where possible.
See the FAQs at the bottom of this page for more on doubling up.
Events are offered in the following categories for 2013:
|IM2||4+||8+||8+, 1x||4+, 1x|
|IM3||8+, 1x||4+, 1x||4+||8+|
|Novice||4+||8+||8+, 1x||4+, 1x|
|J18 or Sch/Jun²||8+, 2x||8+, 1x||4+, 4x, 1x||4+, 4x|
|J16||8+, 1x||4+, 4x||4+, 4x||1x|
|J15||4x+, 1x||4+, 2x||8+ (1st), 8+ (2nd)³, 4+, 2x||4x+, 1x|
|J14||8x+, 4x+ (A), 4x+ (B)4, 2x, 1x||8x+, 4x+, 2x, 1x|
FAQs relating to doubling up
Q. Lucy is sculling in a WJ14 4x+. We know she can't double up in J14 but can she cox our J15 4+? She wouldn't be too tired as the second event is just coxing.
A. No. Competitors in J13 and J14 events can enter one event in the entire regatta only. This is to avoid impossible timetabling given there are plate events for J14 crew events (subject to sufficient entries). So the fact that it's a different age group, and that it wouldn't wear her out as she'd only be rowing in on event is irrelevant.
Q. Our J14 4x+ and J154x+ are sharing a boat. Is that OK?
A. No. You can risk it, and it might work out for you, especially if one crew loses in an early round, but we are unable to accommodate doubling up (and that includes boats) between any J14 event and any other event.
Q. Our J13 4x+ is really good and would like to race at J14 as well to see if they can beat the bigger boys. Can they?
A. No. Competitors in J13 (and J14) events can only race in one event in the regatta. You could enter them in J14 4x+ INSTEAD of J13 4x+, though.
Therefore, please pay on OE only once we have confirmed/accepted your entries. We would also be happy to receive cheques during the week before the regatta, or on the day.
Cheques should be made payable to ‘Thames Ditton Regatta’ and should have the club and events to which they apply written on the back. If you want to send them in advance, send them to:Helena Smalman-Smith